Creating Basic DLL From Juce Application

I am a complete C++ novice and was trying to get the audio plugin host demo into a dll instead of an application. This is because the interface to an Adobe AIR app I am creating requires a DLL format. I have looked at the VST Wrapper class and it is a little over my head.
All I really need is to see, is a very basic example of a very simple Juce app in DLL form and a Juce app that uses that DLL

To that end, I have spent about three days trying to do it myself and about three hours scouring the forums for anything useful.

If anybody can provide the most basic of examples, I would greatly appreciate it.

Thanks,
Josh

Essentially, you just need to drop all the JUCEApplication stuff, and instead make sure you call initialiseJuce_GUI() before using any juce classes. As long as your host app is running a normal event loop, you should be ok.

You say you’ve been trying for 3 days, which sounds like you’re in a bit of a muddle… it’s really shouldn’t be that difficult. Maybe try asking us some more detailed questions about what isn’t working for you?

In VC++ Express 10, I have taken the plugin host demo and set it to compile as a DLL and removed the precompiled header entries from the properties of the VC++ 2010 build.
I added a HostStartup.h file with the following code:

#include <Windows.h>
namespace TestDll
{
	extern "C" class TestDllClass
	{
		static __declspec( dllexport ) int startUp() ;
		static __declspec( dllexport ) int shutDown();
		static __declspec( dllexport ) BOOL WINAPI DllMain (HINSTANCE instance, DWORD dwReason, LPVOID);
	};
}

Then in the HostStartup.cpp, I have commented out the, “START_JUCE_APPLICATION (PluginHostApp);” line and added the following:

namespace TestDll
{
    extern "C" int TestDllClass::startUp()
    {
        initialiseJuce_GUI();
		return 1;
    }

extern "C" int TestDllClass::shutDown()
    {
        shutdownJuce_GUI();
		return 2;
    }
}