Custom window border with no gaps?

I want to write a stand-alone app that uses a non-native title bar. I’ve overwritten the necessary look and feel methods to draw my own windows-border, etc., but there are thin, probably 0.5px, dark lines between my main component and the border component. Also, the whole window suddenly doesn’t use the rounding of Windows 11 anymore. It’s completely square.

Ideally, the border around the window would be completely transparent and inset, not adding to the total size, so we can have a more modern look, similar to Spotify, and other modern apps.

Is that possible with JUCE?

Take a look at the standalonefilterwindow for an example of how this is done - I’ve done the same thing in my app and it allows for customizing everything you need.

1 Like

You must have misunderstood me. I’ve been using JUCE for 6+ years and know how to turn the native title bar off and thus use custom paint functions for the title bar and border.

The issue is that the corners of the window are no longer rounded on Windows 11 and that, even when using “fillAll” for the border and the main component, there is a thin black line between the border and main component.

Maybe you can share a screenshot of your app in which you fixed both issues?

1 Like

Have you tried setting a breakpoint at ResizableWindow::setBackgroundColour() and launching your application? There’s a call to Desktop::canUseSemiTransparentWindows() there which may reveal where your issue lies when going back in the stacktrace (It’s not part of the Desktop class that is causing issues iirc, but for me that’s where I started looking and it led me down the correct path).