DatagramSocket in Juce (beginer)

Hi,

I’m new to socket programming, and trying to connect a Nintendo DS to my Juce app via Wifi (UDP). I have no clue where to initialize the connection. For now I’m giving my MainComponent members DatagramSocket socket and int bytes, and at the end of the app constructor, i’m doing this :

socket.bindToPort(54000);
socket.waitUntilReady(true,-1);

while(true)
{
    socket.read(&bytes, 128, false);
}

I’m pretty sure it is ridiculously false (the app is not running), but I didn’t find any tutorial on this topic…
For now I’m trying to send datas using PuTTY.
If someone could help me with the basics, or send me to a website that could explain those concepts, it would be really apreciated !

Best regards,

Thibault

Your code is close enough, but JUCE applications are ‘event driven’, so you need to have your read loop run on a separate thread, so as not to block the event loop (aka message manager). I just looked at some code of mine and it looks like I call waitUntilReady before every read, but I don’t know if that is needed or not.

Thank you for the reply !
Could it be possible to post a basic example ? I have no clue how to run a separate thread… Is it something like the loop starts when a button is pressed ?
Thanks in advance !

I wish I had some simple example code for you, but all of my code is wrapped up in the specifics of the task… There are several JUCE ways to do threading, and I tend to use the Thread class. There is a threading example in the JUCE examples, MultithreadingDemo.h. The most important thing to understand is sharing data between threads, using data guards like CriticalSections or atomic values, so that you don’t try to read a piece of data in one thread, while the other one is writing to it.