Disk streaming using JUCE

First of all I’m quite new to JUCE so please excuse me if I may sound too newbie. Also thanks for this great library!

So I am on my way to write a plugin that reads samples from disk by streaming. That is, preloads the beginning of the sample file then continuously reads a bit more when required. My first approach would be to use some producer-consumer pattern here, but as I said I am quite new to JUCE so I am wondering what would be the building blocks that I could use for this task?

I know there are quite a lot of classes dealing with various aspects of this problem (ex. ThreadedWriter which I think does exactly the opposite) but I need some directions before going through each and every class that might be or not useful to me.

I also could manage any high level concepts regarding disk streaming, if anyone would share something like that with me :slight_smile: Thus any advice is welcomed.
Thanks!

Welcome! Have a look at the following classes:

juce::AudioFormatReader
juce::AudioFormatReaderSource
juce::AudioFormatManager

Hm, are you saying that if I get a bit deeper with these classes they might actually provide me the streaming feature? I was quite sure JUCE does not support disk streaming for samples…

I obtain audio samples from files on disk all the time via those exact classes. So to answer your question; yes!

:? My goal isn’t to lead you astray.

Have you actually tried to use these classes? It does involve work of your own to continously stream.

Yoohoo! Thats’ great! Thanks!
Inspired by the demo applications I have basically used the SamplerSound class, mostly as is, where it actually reads all the samples into a big buffer using an AudioFormatReader. I was convinced that these *AudioSource classes are only for the audio transport stuff but now I realize they also serve to retrieve samples in smaller chunks and in this new light I think BufferingAudioSource would actually take care of loading the data using a thread.