Draw an Envelope

I would like to draw my own envelopes (ADSR) and being able to edit them with the mouse within the interface. I'm reading about the Graphics class but I'm not sure where to start. Are there any examples for something like that? Where should I start?

Thanks.

One way would be to have an envelope component that draws lines, with child components on top for the handles.  You could use this: 

http://www.juce.com/api/classComponentDragger.html

To handle the dragging. 

And use: 

http://www.juce.com/api/classComponentListener.html

to detect when the handles had been moved. 

Then redraw the main component with the appropriate lines on it. 

There's probably a few ways of skinning this particular cat though...

Thanks for the reply. I'm studying those classes, but it seems quite complex for a beginner like me.

Do you know if there are any examples I can read?

Not of that off the top of my head.  

Start simple, have two components, one small on top of (and a child of)  a big one.  

Draw a rectangle in the small one. 

draw(Graphics & g) override { g.setColour(Colours::yellow); g.drawRect(getLocalBounds()); }

will draw a rectangle the size of the component. 

Next see if you can get it dragging around. 

After that move on to a point in the big one following the small one around. 

After that you'll have probably worked out all you need to get started with an envelope... 

Check out drowaudio which has a 2 point example… But I’ve found this pretty difficult to implement for more points without having to modify the JUCE code.

Rail

Or.....

http://www.juce.com/forum/topic/breakpoint-envelope/function-component-0

Thanks for Martin for posting this.

Thanks for the replies. I tried to compile Martin's code but there are several errors, probably it was made for an older version of Juce?

I'll have a look at drowaudio and I'll try bazrush suggestion.

If I get a chance later I will update the code for you. I don't think it will take much work.