Drawing charts

Hello,
could anyone help me? How to make graph of math formula? I mean something like drawing synthesiser envelope shape? I have also sliders that control independently attack, decay, sustain and release. And I would like the envelope graph (chart) will be updating with my sliders changing.
I tried to looking for something like that, but all tutorials and people on forums tell only about juce::paint and graphics, which actually allow me to draw already defined shapes like lines, rectangles, triangles and things like that.
I wonder, maybe I should just create my own class and inherit from graphics, and then create my own function that would draw from math formula?
I am not sure what to do. Sorry if it’s stupid question but I am quite new in JUCE and in C++, and even in programming at all, and it’s difficult for me :slight_smile:

Of course I know I can draw simply envelope graph with simple lines. But my envelope is built from logarithmic lines, and I even have slider that changes those curves and I want to see those changes. That is why I need something to draw math formula.

Inherit from Component and implement the paint-method to draw your formula. You may need to resort to drawing your curve with individual drawLine calls on the Graphics object provided to the paint-method unless there’s some method in Graphics that replicates the shape of your math formula.

Hello,
thanks for your reply. But I am sceptic about component paint method.
As I remember, even when I drawn something really simple with that method and made it resizeable according to windows resize there was always some lagging.
So I think component paint method is good for some static graphics.
But maybe I am wrong, please correct me if I am.

I am also looking farther in the future, and I wonder how to let that graph of envelope to be click-drag able, so I could set ADSR parameters by dragging graph lines end points, or even to manipulate curves by dragging the whole lines.