DSP module IIR Filter causing low freq noise

Hi all,

I’m using the dsp::IIR:Filter together with coefficients from IIRCoefficients. The filter seems to work and the frequency response looks as expected. However, I notice there is a lot of noise in the lower frequencies. See here. I’ve seen it with both the low shelf and peak filter, and it happens with both process() and processSample().

I’m a C++/JUCE newbie so I might be missing something obvious, but I’m also wondering if it could be quantization noise and if there’s anything I can do to avoid it. Here’s my code:

Header:
dsp::IIR::Filter<float> lowShelfLeft;

Constructor:
lowShelfLeft(dsp::IIR::Coefficients<float>::makeLowShelf(44100, 100, 0.5f, 0.5f))

PrepareToPlay:
dsp::ProcessSpec spec;
spec.sampleRate = sampleRate;
spec.maximumBlockSize = samplesPerBlock;
spec.numChannels = getTotalNumOutputChannels();

lowShelfLeft.prepare(spec);
lowShelfLeft.reset();

ProcessBlock:
dsp::AudioBlock<float> block (buffer);
process(dsp::ProcessContextReplacing<float>(block));

Process:
lowShelfLeft.process(context);

Any input would be appreciated. Thanks!

No replies so far…
I am sure the filters in Juce are not this bad, so I am probably just making some rookie mistake. Anyone care to point me in the right direction? Thanks.

If I understand your image correctly, the noise is somewhere in the -175dB range, which isn’t audible. Is there some practical reason why you are concerned about that?

Thanks for your reply. In my image the purple is the unfiltered signal, and the light green is the filtered signal. So the noise is actually somewhere in the -100dB range where it does matter.

Could it be a problem with the audio channel counts? The Juce filters only process in mono, but you apparently pass in the plugin’s main buffer, which could be stereo or more channels, into the filter instance.