DSP Module IIR Filtering sample by sample

Hello,

I am new to coding and am trying to create a plugin with a stereo Low Pass Filter in it. I am trying to use the dsp module to do this. I have tried to copy from the dsp module demo example. However, I need my filter to process sample by sample so I am trying to use the processSample method. When I do this it doesn’t do any filtering! Would anyone be able to guide me into setting this up pelase?

Can you show your current code?

So I create a LPF-L and LPF-R in the private section of my audioprocessor.h

Then in the constructor in the cpp I give these filters coefficients for a given cutoff and sample rate.

Then I use the processSample in the applyDelay function that I have taken from the JuceDemoPlugin.

At the moment I am testing the plugin on a mono channel, and I can’t get it to do any filtering.

processSample in the DSP module IIR filter returns a sample, it doesn’t modify the sample passed in. You are not storing the returned sample anywhere.

You also need to set the coefficients in the prepareToPlay. I don’t believe that in the constructor you already have the sample rate value available. This was a headache for me a few months ago.

Thank you it is filtering now!

I need to use the setCoefficients() method to set the coefficients right?

First I have to do this to generate the coefficients. Then I pass this into setCoefficients?
lpfLpointer = dsp::IIR::Coefficients::makeFirstOrderLowPass (getSampleRate(), 5000 );

In the reference guide, the following is given
’void IIRFilter::setCoefficients ( const IIRCoefficients & newCoefficients )’

How do I apply this method to my lowPassFilterL filter?

Thanks!

I know its a noob question, but if anyone could help me it would be much appreciated! I am still struggling with this!

Take a look at: https://juce.com/doc/classdsp_1_1IIR_1_1Filter