Embedded database in JUCE

Is it perhaps planned to embed any kind of database in JUCE, like SQLite or my favorite GDBM. It would be a great additon to all the capabilities that already exist. I know that GDBM is GPLed so license is not a problem i don’t know about SQLite, programmicly the interfaces are fairly simple and like mysql don’t need no other software running, purly file based. What do you think about it ?

My to-do list is already too long to add anything that big to it! I’m also a bit of a novice when it comes to databases. But I believe there are people who are linking various DBs into their juce programs already.

i can imagine your TODO list (or perhaps i can’t :slight_smile: ).

it’s not a problem to link any db interface to juce, i was thinking of a consistent data storage system for juce, for storing large amounts of data.

SQLite is public domain.

I’ve used SQLite alongside JUCE quite comfortably. Admittedly not for any large projects, as my main project has no need of a DB, but for smaller sticky-tape[1] projects.

I’m no sure I see the need for a DB engine in JUCE. Unless you are looking at the lightest of lightweight solutions, implementing a SQL server is a huge deal. Most people tend to be real picky about their choice of DB engine once the data application gets outside of the realms of utterly trivial. There is definitely a bit of a gap between lightweight XML based data files, and SQL engines, but it’s a pretty small gap IMHO, and SQLite fits the bill well enough there anyway.

As for GDBM, I’ve never used it. Why do you prefer it to SQLite? I’ve personally stuck with SQLite because I appreciate the fact that it is PD, can be statically linked, and produces db files that transfer well from platform to platform.

[1] A large amount of my time is spent making one-off programs that solve a single purpose and are then never used again. Make of that what you will.