File Upload: what am I doing wrong?

Hello,

I need to upload a file to a server. The server side cgi expects a parameter userId and the file name. I try the following code, but it’s not even able to see userId on the other end (the script doesn’t go on to see if the file has been posted yet but I am sure that wouldn’t work either. This is my first attempt at using juce for file upload and I think I’m missing something simple:

juce::File myFile(“c:\testfile.txt”);
const juce::URL url = new URL(serverCgiPath);
url = &(url->withParameter(“userId”, 1));
url = &(url->withFileToUpload(“uploadfile”, myFile);
juce::InputStream
input = url->createInputStream(true);

input->read((void*) buffer, 1024);

The buffer has a response from the cgi script that is sent when no userId has been set.

Also why do the different URL methods return a copy of the URL and not modify the URL itself?

I’m going to take a wild guess here and speculate that the reason your code doesn’t work is that http file upload requires that all parameters be placed inside the body (multi-part form post) and that the URL’s withParameter method puts the parameter in the query string instead of the post body, at least that’s what the docs say. Note that the http protocol specifies that parameters are put in the body if the method is POST. Thus, if withParameter’s documentation is correct, Juce’s URL class does not correctly implement the HTTP protocol, at least for a POST with parameters.

I don’t have a solution that only relies on Juce code as I’m not sure if the URL class can put parameters in the http body.

i stumbled upon http/ftp upload/download problems with juce and decided to go aroung and use curl, here is what i did:
http://code.google.com/p/ketonal/source/browse/#svn/trunk
(FileUpload class), i’m still hoping that jules will use curl one day in the place of his current NET code.