From FFT to sound bars spectrum

Hi,

I’m a bit stuck after calling the performRealOnlyForwardTransform in FFT class.
I apology in advance but I sucks in math…
I expect someway to convert float (re,im) data into byte “quantization” in
let say in 8 frequency bars… I just want a left / right vu-meter

Thanks for any tips (urls) for dummies

The first thing is that the complex number gives you amplitude and phase for a given frequency in your spectrum.
To display the amplitude, you need to take the absolute value of it. Then, you need to average the frequencies that sum to the same “bin”/octave in your 8 frequency bars.
You may also want to apply a window function on your chunk of data to avoid spills.

Hi,

I’m new to JUCE but have some experience in digital signal processing - so I hope I can help you a bit.

I’m not exactly sure what you’ve understood so far, so I’ll try to explain all steps you need to know so that you can hopefully help yourself a bit more after reading.

Maybe you should take a look at complex numbers first? Complex numbers are a mathematical concept, helping you making some things like periodical sine waveforms a lot easier to calculate. However, this has absolutely nothing to do with the number format & quantization your computer uses to compute them. Just two different topics.

So, lets get started with complex numbers:
Complex numbers are numbers, constructed out of two numbers, the real and the imaginary part. Maybe you might compare this idea to fractional numbers, which are also always made out of two numbers, the numerator and the denominator. Now back to complex numbers, the real part is what can be compared to real numbers, you are used to deal with every day. The imaginary part is another real number, multiplied by the imaginary unit i. Both added together form a complex number: z = x + y*i with z = complex number, x = real part, y = imaginary part.