From Projucer to CMake

I’m a complete CMake newbie and the only reason I’m looking into it is to try and port our plugins to CLAP (hopefully, that’s coming to JUCE soon).

I find CMake to be convoluted and I can’t find an easy way to replicate the current setup we have using Projucer.

Using FRUT I was able to at least in part convert a .jucer file to CMakeLists.txt
However, the folder structure is completely messed up.
A typical plugin file structure for us is something like this:

PluginRepoFolder
    Source
        PluginProcessor.cpp
        PluginProcessor.h
        PluginEditor.cpp
        PluginEditor.h
OurFramework
    SubFolder
        File.cpp
        File.h

So the issues are:

1. I can’t find a way to add folders that are outside the plugin repo to the project, it looks like they all need to be inside the plugin repo.

2. I also can’t find a way to organize the files in folders, instead, the Xcode project generated by CMake has all the .cpp listed in Source Files and all the .h in Header Files:

Header Files
    PluginProcessor.h
    PluginEditor.h
    File.h
Source Files
    PluginProcessor.cpp
    PluginEditor.cpp
    File.cpp

That’s kinda ugly IMO :slight_smile:

1 Like
  1. the rationale is to have a CMakeLists.txt inside your framework and import it as a static library.
  2. source_group(TREE “${PROJECT_SOURCE_DIR}” FILES ${Source})

Hey Carlo! Big fan of your plugins :slight_smile:

Xcode is a bit of a special cookie. I’ve abandoned it for CLion, which has fantastic CMake integration, but before that, I spent many hours tweaking it to display JUCE projects decently.

A fair amount of that work is in my plugin template here: GitHub - sudara/pamplejuce: A JUCE Plugin CI template. JUCE 7 & Catch2 with macOS notarization and Windows EV code signing on Github Actions

I also can’t find a way to organize the files in folders, instead, the Xcode project generated by CMake has all the .cpp listed in Source Files and all the .h in Header Files