Getting started with tracktion in a plugin 2022

I am trying to build a piano roll and synth that will be hosted in a DAW as a plugin. I was planning on using tracktion to accomplish this, but I’m pretty new to it.

I have been having a hard time figuring out how to integrate the engine with juce::AudioProcessor. I tried poking around EngineInPluginDemo.h, but I can’t get the demo running so I’m not sure how useful it is. (In case someone knows how to fix it, the demo seems like its hanging indefinitely while calling juce::AudioDeviceManager::getAvailableDeviceTypes).

It seems like most of the questions on this topic were asked prior to official support being added, so I’m hoping someone can provide guidance on how to hook things up. Specifically what should the AudioProcessor::prepareToPlay and AudioProcessor::processBlock look like.

Can you try using the develop branch as that should work using the CMake project.

If getAvailableDeviceTypes is still hanging, can you post a stack trace. It’s probably hanging in something deeper or deadlocked somewhere.

tldr: The engine appears to have a problem scanning Loopback

I am having the same problem on the develop branch.

The program never actually crashes, so the most I get for output to the terminal is this

Loopback Audio
Creating Default Controllers...
Edit loaded in: 2 ms

After spending some time digging with breakpoints I was able to get a little deeper. It hangs while trying to construct a AudioObjectGetPropertyData on line 2098 of juce_mac_CoreAudio.cpp. Here is the stack trace up to that point:

Thread-1-<com.apple.main.thread>-[Juce Message Thread]
juce::CoreAudioClasses::CoreAudioIODeviceType::getNumChannels(unsigned int, bool) juce_mac_CoreAudio.cpp:2258
juce::CoreAudioClasses::CoreAudioIODeviceType::scanForDevices() juce_mac_CoreAudio.cpp:2101
juce::AudioDeviceManager::createDeviceTypesIfNeeded() juce_AudioDeviceManager.cpp:138