Help a newbie: 2D Slider (x/y controller)

Hi fellas, a JUCE newbie here.

I have a small VST plugin with two parameters (“x” and “y”) of type AudioParameterFloat.

Currently, these are controlled by two simple sliders on the plugin’s editor.

Now I would like to pimp my plugin’s GUI out by adding a “2D slider”, or I guess some people would call it “X/Y controller”. Note that I would like to keep my sliders, in case only X or only Y wants to be modified. The “2D slider” should allow you to change X and Y simultaneously.

That’s part of my problem, I don’t even know what such a thing is called and thus have trouble googling for a solution on how to implement it in JUCE. Here is a mockup I made of how the thing is supposed to look like.

Can someone point me in the general direction on how to implement this?

Appreciate your help.

Hi Burns,

I don’t think, it exists out of the box. however, it shouldn’t be too hard.
You inherit Component and override mouseDown (const MouseEvent& event), mouseDrag() and paint().

Give it a reference or pointer to the processor, so it can call setValue on the parameter you want to attach to.

To paint the knob you can get inspiration on the LookAndFeel:

Hope that helps

Hi Daniel,

perfect, that will get me started!

I’ll post back when I got some progress.

Thank you!

Hi There,

Exactly.
I did something quite similar not long ago and I would like to add that if you want to keep your sliders I’d recommend not using the xy controller to change the value, but to change the sliders instead, then the sliders will change the value as if they were moved by the user.
You can use the “ActionBroadcaster” to send messages from the xy to the pluginEditor.
Must say that I’m pretty newbie myself, so if anyone has a better way then the “ActionBroadcaster” I’d love to hear it.

I wouldn’t do that. Best practice is to have one place where the value is stored, and multiple views may display that value.