Help with understanding some code

Hi all,

I’m very new to JUCE and I’ve been following Josh Hodges (The Audio Programmer) tutorial series on Youtube and there is some code to do frequency modulation on a signal, which works, but I can’t figure out why it works!

In the function getNextAudioBlock it appears that the variable fmMod is repeatedly updated for each sample and its final value is computed from the last sample, but not used until in the function setWaveFrequency. The process function is then called on the audio block, but fmMod isn’t used.

So, if I understand correctly, fmMod is always going to be the value of the last sample in the audio block, or have I misunderstood something?

Code snippets …

void OscData::setWaveFrequency (const int midiNoteNumber)
    {
        setFrequency (juce::MidiMessage::getMidiNoteInHertz (midiNoteNumber) + fmMod);
        lastMidiNote = midiNoteNumber;
    }

void OscData::getNextAudioBlock (juce::dsp::AudioBlock<float>& block)
{
    for (int ch = 0; ch < block.getNumChannels(); ++ch)
    {
        for (int s = 0; s < block.getNumSamples(); ++s)
        {
            fmMod = fmOsc.processSample(block.getSample(ch, s)) * fmDepth;
        }
    }

process (juce::dsp::ProcessContextReplacing<float> (block));
}

Hi @jspink56 !

I suppose that setWaveFrequency is called when a noteOn message comes from the MIDI buffer. In this way, it’s important to take into account the last value of the frequency modulation part in order to not listen to ‘weird’ jumps in the oscillator frequency

Hi @jspink56

I read better the code and I suppose that there is a little issue in the code (or by using better words: a ‘strange’ implementation of FM).
The for statement in the getNextAudioBlock is used to evolve the FM oscillator (which in this code it is supposed to run at very low rate: 5Hz or 10Hz I think).