How do I connect a separate component to the audio thread in MainComponent?

https://docs.juce.com/master/tutorial_synth_db_level_control.html
Following this tutorial, but all my components are separated out so tutorial is almost useless…

I honestly don’t even know how to word this question, but, here it goes…

I want to create a slider that adjusts the master volume of my synth.

I have a MasterVolume.h and .cpp that will be the component for this. It is inheriting from Component (because I read online that you should only have one AudioAppComponent, which MainComponent is already inheriting.)
In MasterVolume, I have declared in instance of a DecibelSlider class and its constructor has this code…

decibelSlider.setRange (-100, -12);
decibelSlider.setTextBoxStyle (juce::Slider::TextBoxRight, false, 100, 20);
decibelSlider.onValueChange = [this] { level = juce::Decibels::decibelsToGain ((float) decibelSlider.getValue()); };
decibelSlider.setValue (juce::Decibels::gainToDecibels (level));
decibelLabel.setText (“Noise Level in dB”, juce::dontSendNotification);

addAndMakeVisible (decibelSlider);
addAndMakeVisible (decibelLabel);

But in MainComponent’s getNextAudioBlock, I assume I put this code…
auto currentLevel = level;
auto levelScale = currentLevel * 2.0f;

for (auto channel = 0; channel < bufferToFill.buffer->getNumChannels(); ++channel)
    {
        auto* buffer = bufferToFill.buffer->getWritePointer (channel, bufferToFill.startSample);

for (auto sample = 0; sample < bufferToFill.numSamples; ++sample)
            buffer[sample] = random.nextFloat() * levelScale - currentLevel;
    }