How do I set the global JUCE path?

Hey guys, I’m just getting started and was wondering if someone could help me find a solution to an error message that pops up when I open Projucer. The message reads: “Your global JUCE path is invalid. This path is used to access JUCE examples and demo project - would you like to set it now?”.

The problem is, I would love to set it but unfortunately have no earthly idea how to do so. Any help would be greatly appreciated!

1 Like

menu “Projucer”->“Global Paths…”

thank you for responding! What path does it need to be set to so that I don’t run into any errors in the future???

well, obviously it depends where you installed juce and the various sdks.
commonly used paths are probably:
Windows:
Juce modules: C:\JUCE\modules
VST3 SDK: C:\SDKs\VST_SDK\VST3_SDK

OSX:
path to JUCE: ~/SDKs/JUCE
Juce modules: ~/SDKs/JUCE/modules
VST3 SDK: ~/SDKs/VST_SDK/VST3_SDK

but you can set it wherever you want.

1 Like

Thanks!

Thanks for your answer!
It helped me when launching “Projucer.app” for the first time (on a mac).

I would suggest the Juce developer team to be a little bit more precise in:

which says:
|JUCE Path|Description|
|Path to JUCE|Location of the JUCE library on your local system as an absolute or relative path.|

The “Location of the JUCE library” is not very clear for a mac user/developer like me.

If I understand correctly, the required “JUCE Path” is the directory containing:

• the application “Projucer.app” (which may appear as “Projucer”, depending on your Finder settings)
  • the “README.md” file,
  • the directories “modules”, “examples”, “extra”, etc.

Am I correct?

In my case, the place where I installed “Projucer.app” is “/Applications/JUCE-5.3.2”

It’s simply the path to wherever you downloaded JUCE - the location of Projucer.app has no bearing on it.