How does SOUL compare? Many questions

SOUL is certainly being bold with that “future of audio coding” slogan, but I am not one to judge, since I am completely new to DSP programming. But maybe it’s time to start. Assume one knows very little about these things but wants to be the next Urs Heckmann. Hopefully someone could answer some questions I have.

How does SOUL compare to languages like Csound, Max — or perhaps modular systems like Reaktor, SynthEdit or SynthMaker? (some of which apparently support custom code extensions beyond stock modules…).

How does SOUL compare to coding in C++ (JUCE etc.). Are there obvious limitations? Are CPU optimizations a la SSE/AVX/NEON out of the question? Could SOUL be used to produce VST/AU/LV2 plugins?

Could open source plugins (VST / AU / LV2) C++ synth code such as Dexed or OxeFM be ported to something like SOUL or Csound/Max? For example sound engines with specific methods of oscillator generation (analog modelling, physical modelling etc.), filters, anti-aliasing (or allowing for aliasing), different interpolations of sampled audio, etc.

If I were to get into synth programming, I would want to faithfully recreate the synthesis techniques used in PPG Wave, Yamaha DX7, Casio CZ etc. And do so unencumbered by the limitations of something like Reaktor or SynthMaker which I have heard, can only go so far.

Do you think SOUL will be comprehensive/flexible enough to make convincing results?

Also - none of the demos work on either Chrome/Firefox… but I guess those are growing pains.

none of the demos work on either Chrome/Firefox

Ah… looks like you decided to try it at the exact moment when our server decided to run out of storage space and fall over.

It does of course work in Chrome and Firefox, but not when the server is having a lie down… we’ll get it back up asap!