How Reaper and other DAWs work with 32 bit float bit depth

Hello,

I’m new to plugins and I want to build a plugin which has an algorithm that requires the input audio to be 32 bit float. I ask myself how Reaper and other DAWs will deliver the input audio to my plugin. I did some search and I found that Reaper allows directly recording in 32 bit float and does all the processment actually in 64 bit float, but I have not found specifications on how the audio tracks are passed to the plugin. Does someone could suggest a good reference material for this topic?

Basically I want to know if my tracks recorded in 32 bit float will be passed as they are to my plugin and if there’s a built in Reaper/DAW function that would allow to convert a 24 bit track into 32 bit float, for example, so that my plugin could process it.

I appreciate any help or suggestion.

I don’t know about Reaper specifically, but probably all modern DAWs work in float nowadays. This defaults to 32 bit float.

Your plugin can tell the host that it can process 64 bit floating point a.k.a. double.
This usually means, that your plugin has an implementation for each use case, often done with templates, so you write the code once and it works for float and double.

How the host stores the data is not of your concern, only in what format it is passed into your plugin.

You have to override AudioProcessor::supportsDoublePrecisionProcessing() to return true and implement both variants of processBlock():

void AudioProcessor::processBlock (AudioBuffer<float>& buffer, MidiBuffer& midiMessages) overide;

void AudioProcessor::processBlock (AudioBuffer<double>& buffer, MidiBuffer& midiMessages) overide;

// juce namespace left out for brevity
1 Like

Hi Daniel, many thanks for your clarification and for the example code! Does it mean that if I have a track recorded at 16 bit fixed point the DAW would send it to the plugin as 32 bit float?