How to connect slider to background MIDI process

I'm preparing materials for a new course I'm teaching at Carleton College called Audio Programming in C++. I'd like to use JUCE for the GUI. I've been writing MIDI programs since 1986 and am trying to reproduce a desktop MIDI app that I originally wrote in WxWidgets. Here's a little background. The program is called MIDIDisplay allows students to enter text data in the following format:

Time Status Data1 Data2

Those four numbers (int32, byte, byte, byte) are separated by tab characters and represent the time stamp and MIDI message. Students learn to deal with time stamps in milliseconds, difference between events in milliseconds, and PPQ. 

I've only been using JUCE for a couple weeks and already have the user interface written and have MIDI input and output working correctly. Text is entered into the CodeEditorComponent and is then read into a MidiMessage and added to a MidiBuffer. The output works perfectly using MidiOutput::sendBlockOfMessages(). 

My problem is how to connect the Tempo slider widget that controls the playback tempo to the MidiOutput background thread. I can freely move the tempo slider as the file is playing and see the slider update the tempo in the GUI; but the MidiOutput background thread never gets the tempo update. I can't seem to find a way to hook into the MIDI playback thread to make it see the tempo change.  Can you give me some guidance or point me to some example code?

I'm using the current version git version of JUCE from https://github.com/julianstorer/JUCE.git on Mac OX X 10.10.5.

What kind of background thread are you using for the midi output? Are you using a predefined Juce class, or have you created your own background thread?

The thread, which the MidiOutput class is using is private. So I am not sure if it is possible to modify its timing.