How to create a simple plug in host?

Hello!

I’m new to JUCE and audio plugin development in general and I want to create my own command line plug in host that opens up the plug-in, allows for midi input, and audio output. Does anyone have any tips on how I would do this or what resources I should be looking at? I’ve built JUCE’s existing plug-in host example and have been trying to understand some of that code to get somewhat familiar, but I am still a bit lost. I’m working on MacOS.

I appreciate any help or insights!

Thank you

Best place I’ve looked for tips on this subject is in the TRACKTION framework, which sits on top of JUCE and provides a lot of the services and session-management features that one would expect to use in a DAW - i.e. hosting plugins, recreating edit sessions from file, etc.

Even if you decide not to use the framework, you can still learn a lot about how plugins are hosted from the TRACKTION sources themselves.

In addition, take a look at the Helio and LMN-3-DAW projects, both of which are mini-DAW’s using JUCE to host plugins - there may be some clues for you to follow there, as well:

[1] - Tracktion - GitHub - Tracktion/tracktion_engine: Tracktion Engine module
[2] - Helio Workstation - GitHub - helio-fm/helio-workstation: One music sequencer for all major platforms, desktop and mobile
[3] - LMN-3-DAW - GitHub - FundamentalFrequency/LMN-3-DAW: LMN-3 DAW

If you are working on a new plugin implementation, allow me to suggest you take a look at TRACKTION’s “.trackedit” Edit loading functionality, which does a lot of the homework for you already …

Hello!
It’s not very obvious because there’s no class with the word “host” in it, and of course, most people aren’t interested in doing this, so I couldn’t find any tutorials or explanations.
I once managed to do it using
AudioPluginFormatManager::CreatePluginInstance()