Incorporating ValueTree in a code snippet

Hi all,

I am new to C++ and JUCE. I am building a new application that might get large, so I would like to adopt a good architecture from the beginning to limit future refactoring. My main concern, for now, is to separate the different view classes from the model classes, but I am not sure how to achieve this with the JUCE framework. I think at the center of the architecture there will be some ValueTrees, but I cannot understand how they will be integrated despite having looked at many examples.

Let’s consider the relatively simple case where I have a Playlist containing a list of Track. I create two classes to represent them, and they contain the model (i.e., logic and state) of my program. Then, I also created their respective views to let the user display and interact with them. Later, multiple views for each class in the model might exist:

class Playlist{
	Array<Track> tracks; // State
	void addTrack(){ // Logic
		tracks.add(new Track());
	}
} 
class Track{
	double length; // State
	void changePlaybackRate(double playbackRate){ // Logic
		length /= playbackRate;
	}
}

class PlaylistView: public Component, ValueTree::Listener{
	Playlist playlist; // Reference to the model in the view
	Button addButton; // UI element
	PlaylistView(Playlist p): playlist(p){
		playlist.addListener(this); // Somehow listen to changes in the state of playlist
		addAndMakeVisible(addButton);
		addButton.onClick = [this] { playlist.addTrack(); }; // interact with playlist
	}

void valueTreePropertyChanged(…){ // When playlist state changes
		for(Track track: playlist.tracks) // Create child components to display each track
			addAndMakeVisible(new TrackView(track)); 
	}
}

class TrackView: public Component, ValueTree::Listener{
	Track track; // Reference to the model in the view
	Label label; // UI element
	TrackView(Track t): track(t){
		track.addListener(this); // Somehow listen to track state
	}