Is there a thread safe way of reading a String from the audioProcessor, since they can't be atomics?

I’m fairly new to JUCE. I’ve implemented atomics for simple types like ints, floats and bools.

But I have a juce::String variable in the Processor that I want to read from the Editor.
I’ve read about Mutex, but apparently that might hold up the audio thread. Is there a safe way you would access?
(I’m just reading the string, not writing to it.)

How and in which method(s) does the audioprocessor create/manipulate the string?

Its presetName so its assigned a default value in the constructor, and its manipulated in setStateInformation() and then every time the user changes the preset.

So in theory not often, but I debugged it, and I found out that setStateInformation() which I thought was just called once when the DAW reloads the plugin, is actually being called every time I change a slider!

There is no need for data locking if you can ensure that the getter/setter methods are only called from the message thread (GUI, juce::Timer).

jassert(juce::MessageManager::getInstance()->isThisTheMessageThread());

1 Like

I went with buffering the presetName string into another string presetNameForEditor (both of these in the Processor) and then setting an atomic flag, then in the Editor timercallback() checking for that flag and then handling the presetNameForEditor.

a string is not in itself atomic. So the only safe method is to pass a copy to the editor.
One fairly easy method is to use a lock-free queue. The processor places the string on the queue, and the editor polls the queue via a timer, and removes the string from the queue.

One possible implementation is to treat the queue as simply a pipe that passes bytes safely from the processor to the editor. You can write some basic methods to push and pull values.

you end up with code that looks something like…

auto que = MessageQueToDsp();