Issues dereferencing a pointer in SliderAttachment

Hi everyone I’m totally new to audio programming and I’m getting started following a tutorial for a drive plugin that is a few years old, so things have changed a bit.

I’m stuck at a part where I need to link the sliders and knobs I’ve initialized to the audio processor value tree state (slider attachment).

The tutorial used scoped pointers which have since been deprecated and I was able to work out how to do it in the up to date framework except one thing, the compiler (I think) says I am dereferencing null pointers. Here are the snippets of code if you could help me out it’d be much appreciated.

Here is the error:

error: no match for ‘operator=’ (operand types are ‘std::unique_ptr<juce::AudioProcessorValueTreeState::SliderAttachment>

from PluginEditor.h:

std::unique_ptr<juce::Slider> driveKnob;
    std::unique_ptr<juce::Slider> preVolumeKnob;
    std::unique_ptr<juce::Slider> postVolumeKnob;
    std::unique_ptr<juce::Slider> lowCut;
    std::unique_ptr<juce::Slider> highCut;

std::unique_ptr<juce::AudioProcessorValueTreeState::SliderAttachment> driveAttachment;
    std::unique_ptr<juce::AudioProcessorValueTreeState::SliderAttachment> preVolumeAttachment;
    std::unique_ptr<juce::AudioProcessorValueTreeState::SliderAttachment> postVolumeAttachment;
    std::unique_ptr<juce::AudioProcessorValueTreeState::SliderAttachment> lowCutAttachment;
    std::unique_ptr<juce::AudioProcessorValueTreeState::SliderAttachment> highCutAttachment;

from PluginEditor.cpp

driveKnob = std::make_unique<juce::Slider> ("Drive");
    addAndMakeVisible(driveKnob.get());
    driveKnob->setSliderStyle(juce::Slider::RotaryVerticalDrag);
    driveKnob->setTextBoxStyle(juce::Slider::NoTextBox, false, 100, 100);

preVolumeKnob = std::make_unique<juce::Slider> ("Pre Volume");
    addAndMakeVisible(preVolumeKnob.get());
    preVolumeKnob->setSliderStyle(juce::Slider::LinearVertical);