VST Critical error when i create new attachment for sliders

driveAttachment = new AudioProcessorValueTreeState::SliderAttachment(p.getState(), “drive”, driveKnob);

^ This line of code causes my vst to produce a critical error. I am following this tutorial and I am stuck at the 40-minute mark and have copied everything so far exactly. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iNCR5flSuDs.
I have no past experience with c++ so you will have to explain where all the stuff goes. is there an alternative or a fix I can do to get this to work. thanks

What’s a “critical error”? What does the debugger show?

Thanks for the response, idk what you mean by the debugger but there are no build errors and it is flstudio that shows critical error when i load the plugin with that line of code

Unfortunately “no build errors” means nothing in C++. The code could be completely buggy and the compiler will still compile it. (In some cases enabling compiler warnings as errors may expose some issues, though.)

The debugger is a very important development tool, you should immediately get yourself familiar with it. When you run your code under the debugger, it can catch runtime errors and get you at the place in the code where the error happened, among other things.

I don’t want to watch the video and copy the code from that manually, can you post your project code somewhere already written out? (Why didn’t the Youtube video author provide the source code anyway…? :man_facepalming: )

2 Likes

Thanks for the help yeah i cant find out anything online about a juce debugger and yeah there was no source code available :(.

Plugineditor.cpp -

addAndMakeVisible(driveKnob = new Slider("Drive"));
driveKnob->setSliderStyle(Slider::RotaryHorizontalVerticalDrag);
driveKnob->setTextBoxStyle(Slider::NoTextBox,false,100,100);
driveKnob->setRange(0, 50);
setSize(800, 400);
driveAttachment = new AudioProcessorValueTreeState::SliderAttachment(p.getState(), “drive”, driveKnob);

PluginProcessor.cpp-