Juce and Exception Handling?

I am still quite new to JUCE and C++.

At the moment I am considering adding exception handling to my code.

But I saw, that exception handling is rarely used in JUCE.

Does that mean, I should not use it either?

What's your view on dealing with execptions ?

This comes down to opinion mainly, so the short answer would be to do whatever makes sense.

One thing I think most would agree on (within the realms of C++), is that if you use exceptions, use them to express exceptional circumstances (pun intended). So for example, if you have a critical configuration file for which it doesn't make sense to generate defaults, and that file is missing, then you might want to throw an exception with a meaningful error message so as to help you debug the application later.

On the other hand, I don't think it'd make sense to throw an exception just because the you can't find the previous session to reload, since this could happen for a number of reasons.

The point here is; it's subjective.

Disclaimer: This is my personal opinion and not the opinion of or representative of ROLI, JUCE or anything else you can think of.

If I've understood correctly, Juce has no way to propagate exceptions outside of a function that is called by the GUI event loop(*), so all your exception handling would need to be inside whatever functions may throw an exception (or calls code that may throw an exception). This doesn't end up in very nice code. If you forget a try-catch block in any such function, the application is going to unceremoniously be aborted anyway despite your initial plan to be "cool" and deal with exceptions.