Juce classes vrs c++ std

Hi folks,

I'm new to Juce and I've been reading through the headers trying to learn what is available to me. I am struck by the number of classes that seem to reproduce functionality that already exists in either std:: or boost. 

I don't mean to malign the juce classes, and they look like good code - undoubtably better than I would write myself - but I don't understand why I would use them. juce_string and juce_array are good examples of classes that don't seem to provide an obvious (to me) benefit.

But, with all that said I bet that there are some good answers to my questions. Is there anywhere where someone has made the case for using juce classes for things like collections and pointers? I searched these forums but was unable to find anything addressing this topic.

Also, I created a stack overflow question on the same topic but didn't get many bites. If anyone feels inclined to answer this question there that would be cool.

http://stackoverflow.com/questions/34756510/are-there-good-reasons-to-use-juce-classes-instead-of-std-classes

Finally, please let me reiterate -- I am not here to knock Juce... I just don't get it and I would like some illumination.

I posted a similar topic a while back and there was quite a few replies that might be of use to you. A lot of the classes seem to be from before there were Standard Library equivalents.

Choosing things from JUCE over Standard Library (or vice versa)

TL;DR for this question:

Yes, JUCE was written way back in the old days, when the standard containers were really unsatisfactory, and most libraries rolled their own container classes.