JUCE or standard library for a newbie?

I’ll finally get some free time, so I’m preparing to get started again in my C++ learning. But, I have a question I’ve been hesitant to ask here. I’ve had some exposure to programming (mostly C), but I’m a newbie in C++. I like using JUCE because for the 1st time in my life, it allowed me to write a program with GUI in Windows (big thanks to haydxn).

Question: Is learning C++ using JUCE a perfectly fine approach, or is this going to bite me later on?

I ask because all the C++ books I see in the bookstores teach using the standard library or STL (is it the same thing?). Am I learning C++ in a backward order? Are the authors not aware of JUCE yet? Wouldn’t it be really cool to see a book that teaches C++ using JUCE and the free MS Visual C++ 2005 Express? (maybe haydxn could do this?) :wink:

Or, am I completely confused here? :oops: I either use JUCE or standard library in a program, right? Or, in a real program, you use both at the same time?

I’d like some advice (or clarification) from experienced coders. I’m hoping this thread will be helpful to other newbies. Thanks in advance!

STL is the Standard Template Library, the C++ Standard Library contains STL as well as the old C Standard Library.

There is no reason why you can’t use both STL and JUCE in one program, in code that deals with the GUI, you are most likely going to want to use the juce containers. But perhaps in another component, like a database, you may want to use STL.

I prefer the juce containers, I think they are easier to use, and lead to nicer looking code.

JUCE is new and has a very small user base compared to STL, which is why there is a lack of books.

Using juce could bite you later on. Only two licenses are avaliable, gpl and commercial. As well juce only supports Windows, Mac and Linux. These restrictions may or may not limit you, depending on what you want to do.