JUCE Development Career?

jobs

Hi everyone,

First off, thanks for taking the time to read. I am interested in learning to develop audio plugins, and perhaps pursuing a career in it. I graduated from school less than a year ago with a B.S. in Computer Science, with a minor in Music Technology. I currently work as a software developer for a bank, but my wife is interested in travel nursing, which would land us in a new location every 3-6 months. With that in mind, I am looking for some type of remote career. Also, I have been searching for ways to combine my passion for music and programming, and figure this could be a viable option.

The forums on this site seem to be a great resource for JUCE developers, and I was hoping some of you could speak to plugin development as a career? I currently live in Charlotte, NC, and cannot find a job related to this field anywhere near me. Are there certain cities that these jobs are concentrated in, or are there a lot of remote opportunities?

Thanks in advance for the help!

In my experience, most of the work available in this field resides in places like Berlin / London / Los Angeles / New York / etc. You’ll most likely have to jump in to this kind of job in the city, and work your way toward remote work. Get started with your own professional-grade JUCE projects first, perhaps releasing them online, and then join a team that will benefit from your skill set.

Just one mans opinion.

Cheers,
Bruce

I’ve been remote only juce developer since about 2014, before that I worked at Mackie / LOUD Technologies Inc. Originally most of my work came from people I knew from my Mackie days, but lately it has been transitioning to work found via the juce forum. I have a few open source vst plugins, a open source juce module and a few closed source free plugins. None are professional grade, but they do show off some interesting ideas, and they have generated some leads.