Keep position of draggable component after resize

Hey!

I'm very new to JUCE and currently developing my very first Audio Plugin.

I implemented a component which is draggable, but every time I resize the main window the component jumps back to its start position. Is there anyway to get a notification that the window size is changing right now or to tell the ComponentDragger to keep the last position?

Thanks!

My guess would be that the parent component's resized() function is setting the bounds of that child component.

Thanks, I tried that, but then the component does not appear at all.

Maybe an important information: I only managed to make it work, when I initialized my own object in the header file. When I only declared it and initialized it in the cpp file, I got an "EXC_BAD_ACCESS Error" at the point where the bounds for this object were set in the resized() function. The bounds depend on some constants in the object class, that might be the reason for that.

Anyway, it worked to create the object and drag it, but as mentioned, the jump back when it gets resized is the problem now. And only setting the bounds in the child component class and not in the parent, let the object to not appear at all.

There's nothing wrong with setting the bounds in resized - that isn't a problem, but it is the reason the component is moving when the parent is resized (because it is being explicitly told to). If that's the only place you're setting the bounds of the object, then not setting the bounds here will of course mean that it never gets placed anywhere (and so you'd never see it).

You just need to make sure that the bounds are set somewhere (e.g. when the component is created). You might want to set the bounds in resized still (e.g. if you wanted to keep it aligned to the right edge) - you'd just need to make sure that you're setting the bounds that you want, and not just the original bounds!