Loading custom TTF fonts

I’m a bit new to JUCE, but an experienced iPhone developer. Just starting using JUCE for an iPad project and ran into a problem that I was hoping somebody would have some experience with.

I’m trying to load a custom TTF font that I would like to be embedded in the project and then use via the standard JUCE labels and drawing… but not sure how to make it available.

In my iPad build, I know how to load the font from the OSX application bundle and hence render glyphs from it in a typical OSX way:

CGFontRef loadFont() {
// Get the path to our custom font and create a data provider.
NSString *fontPath = [[NSBundle mainBundle] pathForResource:@“MySpecialFont” ofType:@“ttf”];
CGDataProviderRef fontDataProvider = CGDataProviderCreateWithFilename([fontPath UTF8String]);

// Create the font with the data provider, then release the data provider.
CGFontRef customFont = CGFontCreateWithDataProvider(fontDataProvider);
CGDataProviderRelease(fontDataProvider);
return customFont;
}

Is there a way I can add this to my JUCE application in a standard way? Ideally, we would would use the same mechanism for our windows build as well, but I would be happy enough just to get this working on the iPad build for a start.

I didn’t see a call to load a local font file in the JUCE API, but it is still a bit new to me, so I could have missed it. Are there API calls somewhere to load font files?

There’s nothing in there to load a platform-specific font (and I’m not sure if it’d be possible on Windows anyway), but you can save fonts into a juce-specific format and reload them from binary data without going near the plaform-specific font code at all, using the CustomTypeface class.

Great… this sounds like the right approach. We definitely want to keep everything in JUCE as much as possible. I’ll be giving this a try shortly, and I’ll be sure to report back any problems and hopefully solutions that we encounter on this adventure.