Mac, OpenGL? and EXC_BAD_ACCESS

Hi,

I am new to Juce, and extremely keen to use it as the GUI for my S2PLOT library (http://astronomy.swin.edu.au/s2plot).

However I have run into a problem that is confounding me. I am receiving an EXC_BAD_ACCESS crash on entry to one of my functions that is called from the OpenGL render thread. Basically it appears that whatever the first executable line of my function is, the crash is reported there. But something much more intricate must be going on.

Thing is, I have ported and copied my code into a native iOS app (without Juce) without this error. I’ve pretty much done the same copy and insert with Juce, and I get this error. I believe I have everything set up (incl. the OpenGLContext following from JuceDemo).

I thought perhaps it was a c/c++ problem, but my code compiles fine inserted into Objective-C files (as it had to to work on iOS natively) and I have even verified that I can build S2PLOT natively (against GLUT) with g++ and clang++.

I’m at a bit of a loss. valgrind shows nothing of consequence except a few jumps that depend on uninitialised variables deep in the Juce code - typically these are ignorable. NSZombieEnabled finds nothing. Instruments find nothing. Yet the program keeps crashing. Well, it crashes around 80% of the time. By commenting out slews of my code I can get it to reliably not crash but I am not convinced the issue is with my code as I say it works on iOS, Mac GLUT, Linux GLUT, … it is only in the Juce framework / (or build environment?) that I get this failure.

I can’t post code to show this. It would be a massive post and S2PLOT is not open source yet but will be later this year.

So maybe someone else has experience tracking down such errors and can provide some general advice? Or has someone else seen EXC_BAD_ACCESS errors in Juce as well, especially as related to OpenGL?

thanks - David.