MidiLoggerPluginDemo

Hi Folks
I’m pretty new to JUCE but excited with the Linux vst3 support under Linux.

My questions below are probably not restricted to Linux.

I was able to get the MidiLoggerPluginDemo to work (and created a local project based on that). It runs fine under Reaper but has issues under Bitwig (as I understand that is a Bitwig problem, and a solution is on the way).

Just by looking at the example code, there is quite a lot to digest. The example is particularly interesting since it demonstrates the interaction between the processor and editing parts.

My first question is about the safe sharing of data between those. So, the top/main class is based on the MidiLoggerPluginDemoProcessor. The Editor is added as a private member, and uses ownerIn to refer to the “Processor”.

1. Is that any different from having the Processor and Editor separated, or just a matter of taste which approach is better?

Midi messages are pushed onto the queue (in the process event handling). Then the queue is poped in timerCallback and put into the model. (The model contains the whole history, while the queue will just contain the midi messages in between timerCallbacks, if I understand correctly.)

1. So what is the threading model here? Can timerCallback be pre-empted by a process invocation. If so, is the backing implementation thread safe (e.g., by some internal lock, or backed lock free data stuctures). In the former case, what if the timerCallback would block the push. (I assume the AbstractFifo would be holding the solution, but a TL;DR would be great.)

2. What would the OOM behavior be, is it graceful if the queueSize is reached (e.g., no more data will be pushed on the fifo, or will we have a controlled crash/panic, or will we have true memory unsafety (that it will write to somewhere in the memory, and only god knows what happens …)