Mixing multiple wav files

I want to mix multiple wave files using JUCE library, and write to a file. I am completely new to JUCE. Could anyone please give some idea on how to do this.

Hi arka86,

For mixing multiple wav files take a look at the MixerAudioSource class.

When you want to write this data to a file, you should create a FileOutputStream object and pass it your destination file in the constructor and then create an AudioFormatWriter using the WavAudioFormat class createWriterFor() method with your output stream as the first argument. You can then write a set of audio samples to the output stream using the AudioFormatWriter::writeFromAudioSampleBuffer() method.

Hope this helps!
Ed

Hi ed,

Thanks a lot. I am using the following code to merge the wav files into one -

String fileName = “D:\output.wav”;
File outputFile = File(fileName);
if (outputFile.exists())
outputFile.deleteFile();
outputFile.create();

WavAudioFormat wav;
	for each (String filePath in arrFiles)
	{
		File inputFile = File(filePath);
		ScopedPointer <AudioFormatReader> reader(wav.createReaderFor(inputFile.createInputStream(), true));
		if (reader != nullptr)
		{
			ScopedPointer <OutputStream> outStream(outputFile.createOutputStream());
			if (outStream != nullptr)
			{
				StringPairArray metaData = WavAudioFormat::createBWAVMetadata("", "", "", Time::getCurrentTime(), 0, "");
				ScopedPointer <AudioFormatWriter> writer (wav.createWriterFor(outStream, reader->sampleRate, reader->numChannels,
																(int)reader->bitsPerSample, metaData, 0));
				if (writer != nullptr)
				{
                                            outStream.release();
					bool ok = writer->writeFromAudioReader(*reader, 0, -1);
					writer = nullptr;
					reader = nullptr;
				}
			}
		}
	}

But it is writing only one file to the output. I am not understanding what wrong I am doing. Thanks in advance.

Your code doesn’t do any audio mixing. You might want to use the MixerAudioSource like suggested above.