Need help: Most basic VST3 Plugin is crashing on savihost

I found that the most basic vst3 audio plugin crashes on savihost.
(Vst2 and standalone versions run just fine.)
This is what I did to build and run a simple Hello World example:

• create a new Prodjucer Plugin Project with VS2015 exporter
  • add VST3 and standalone Targets
  • add module “juce_audio_utils”
  • set the I/O configuration to {2,2}
  • add win32 platform
  • save and open in IDE
  • start debug session using Savihost

The x64 version throws an exception before the editor window is displayed.

Exception thrown: read access violation.
this->cachedImage.object was 0xFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFF.

(It breaks in juce_Component.cpp line 1152)

void Component::setBounds ( ...
(...)
        else if (cachedImage != nullptr)
        {
->          cachedImage->invalidateAll();
        }

The win32 version starts up with the main component resized to (0,0,0,0).
On closing savihost the plugin crashes.

I am new to VST3 development and I wonder: Am I doing something wrong, is there a problem with Juce or should I just forget about using Savihost as a test environment?

Here is the jucer project.

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
<JUCERPROJECT id="sqcFCr" name="CrashTest" displaySplashScreen="1" reportAppUsage="1"
              splashScreenColour="Dark" projectType="audioplug" version="1.0.0"
              bundleIdentifier="com.yourcompany.CrashTest" includeBinaryInAppConfig="1"
              buildVST="1" buildVST3="1" buildAU="1" buildAUv3="0" buildRTAS="0"
              buildAAX="1" buildStandalone="1" enableIAA="0" pluginName="CrashTest"
              pluginDesc="CrashTest" pluginManufacturer="yourcompany" pluginManufacturerCode="Manu"
              pluginCode="Sqcf" pluginChannelConfigs="{2,2}" pluginIsSynth="0"
              pluginWantsMidiIn="1" pluginProducesMidiOut="0" pluginIsMidiEffectPlugin="0"
              pluginEditorRequiresKeys="0" pluginAUExportPrefix="CrashTestAU"