New to DSP, need some help!

I'm new to DPS (and c++ too really), I'm almost clueless as to how I should proceed.

I have my plugin building now using the provided Makefile, but I'm not sure how I would, for example, generate a sine wave of a given frequency, say 440hz?

After some hours of googling I came up with something like this:

void HelloJuceAudioProcessor::processBlock (AudioSampleBuffer& buffer, MidiBuffer& midiMessages)
{
    // In case we have more outputs than inputs, this code clears any output
    // channels that didn't contain input data, (because these aren't
    // guaranteed to be empty - they may contain garbage).
    // I've added this to avoid people getting screaming feedback
    // when they first compile the plugin, but obviously you don't need to
    // this code if your algorithm already fills all the output channels.
    for (int i = getNumInputChannels(); i < getNumOutputChannels(); ++i)
        buffer.clear (i, 0, buffer.getNumSamples());
    this->sine += 1 * buffer.getNumSamples();

// This is the place where you'd normally do the guts of your plugin's
    // audio processing...
    for (int channel = 0; channel < getNumInputChannels(); ++channel)
    {
        float *channelData = buffer.getWritePointer (channel);
        //*channelData *= rand() % 1;
        //*channelData = 0.5f;
        *channelData = std::sin(440 * (2 * 3.141592653589793) * this->sine / 44100);

//1000 * (2 * pi) * i / 44100
        //frequency * (2 * pi) * i / 44100
        //frequency * (2 * pi) * (this.sine * samplesPerBlock) / 44100
    }
}

I tried to run the plugin, but the sound output isn't exactly what I thought it would be... of course, I'm just guessing my way around this.

The main issue for me is I don't know what the channelData contains. Are the supposed to contain floats between 0 and 1 ? or -1 and 1?

Or something else?