Newbie questions - feel free to be polite

Hi,

I’m new to juce, but i really want to get in it.
But i’ve got some problems:

1. Topic: JuceDemoPlugin

I am tryin to build the JuceDemoPlugin as a VST Plugin (I deactivated RTAS and AU).

I compiled the JuceDemoPlugin without (except of some Warnings…) correctly:
in the Debug Folder i can see now files like those:

JuceDemoPlugin.dpm.rsr
juce_RTAS_WinUtilities.obj

JuceDemoPlugin.dpm.embed.manifest
JuceDemoPlugin.dpm.embed.manifest.res
juce_VST_Wrapper.obj

JuceDemoPlugin.dpm.intermediate.manifest
JuceDemoPlugin.dpm
JuceDemoPlugin.pdb

maybe this is a stupid question but: Where can i find the JuceDemoPlugin.dll which I can inlcude as VST?

1. Topic: Building my One Plug-in

I am doing the tutorial atm - do you have any other hints where to start?
If I want to create a Filter - do I have to make a FFT of the input signal (Or a make use of a FIR?),
or is there already a way in juce implemented to get my input signal in the frequency domain?

Thanks for your answers,

greetz equinox

Which version of juce are you using?
1.50? 1.51?
First, I suggest to download the last revision of juce from the git repository, go to the downloads section of this site and follow the git link.
If you don’t want to install the git, just click on the first “snapshot” link you find on the git’s page.

Then:

Topic one: you built the juce demo plugin correctly. The vst plugin is the .dpm file, just rename it as .dll and it will be fine.
The .dpm extension is for rtas (protools) plugins.
I believe that the git versions of juce build plugins as .dll now.

ah ok thx! the plugin worked when I renamed it into a .dll.
I used 1.50, actually i wasn’t aware of the fact that there is a new version of juce - I build the new version today,
and JUCE is now building a .dll by itself.

Why can I use the demplugin only as a filter? The Plugin does not appear in Cubase at the list “VST-Instruments” (hitting f11).

OK my next problem is: