Ongoing write to FileLogger in plugin: where to init, thread safety, how not to block audio, how to close file?

Hi folks, long time listener, first time caller.

I’m looking to create a plugin that, in addition to processing audio, logs its input and output level into a file, while running.

It doesn’t have to write every block – maybe every 1/3 of a second or so.

I’m very new to JUCE and cpp (though I have some experience in realtime). So I have a few questions:

1. Where to initialize the logger?
  • I’m thinking something like setCurrentLogger in the PluginProcessor constructor. What do you think?
  1. Where to write to log file?
  • I’m told that writing to file in the audio thread is a bad idea. I agree, but I don’t know enough about JUCE to know where else I would put this.
  • It would probably have some internal counter, and log every n blocks; if that helps.
  1. How to write from log to file?

2. Where/how to close the log file?

Thanks in advance!

Using the constructor seems reasonable, if you know which file you want to write. If you want the file to be configurable from the plugin editor, you might want to set the logger from the callback of a FileChooser, or after a text editor field is modified. That said, the JUCE Logger may not be a good fit for your use-case, and more general file-writing mechanisms might work better.

You could do something like this:

• Keep track of the current level on the audio thread. Every N samples, you can push the accumulated level into a queue (check out JUCE’s AbstractFifo for a wait-free implementation).
  • Use a Timer to read levels out of the fifo on the message thread, and write them to file.

It’s probably not worth using JUCE’s Logger in this scenario. You can just use File::appendText to add some text to a file. Alternatively, you could use FileOutputStream::writeText (this has the advantage that you only open and close the file once, rather than each time you write to the file).