OoP: Standardization between AudioProcessorParameter, GUI, target object(s) and Host?

Hey all,

I’m a student still developing my mind in the wonderful world of OoP. I’m trying to figure out the best way to go about designing my subclasses for a project I’m working on at my internship.

I’m trying to wrap my head around the wisest way to go about making everything communicate properly. A subset of the project I’m working on is my ‘MultiOscSynth’- a subclass of Synthesiser. For simplicity’s sake, let’s say it has 3 user-controllable attributes- level, numberOfLayers, and coarseTuneInSemitones.

These user-controllable attributes should be changeable by the GUI or automation. Whenever the attribute is changed by anything, the following should happen:
• a parameter object representative of this user-controllable attribute should be updated
• the target object (MultiOscSynth) should be notified to handle the change with its local attributes
• the corresponding GUI element should reflect the new value (which does not happen by default with automation changes)
• The host (DAW) is notified of the change so that it may update automation lanes etc.

I created an AudioProcessorParameter ‘ISWParameter’ to address the first bit; an ISWParameter is any user controllable parameter. In addition to some meta data, an ISWParameter maintains pointer(s) to ISWObject(s)- a class made for the sake of polymorphism, whose subclasses must override/define the method “updateFromParameter(ISWParameter* paramToUpdateFrom)”. MultiOscSynth is one of these subclasses. Whenever setValue is called on an ISWParameter, it tells this ISWObject to updateFromParameter.