Problem calling createReaderForCD

I’m new to Juce, but I’ve got the demo program compiling under Visual Studio 2005, and and starting to get a bit of the hang of it.

I’m trying to make a CD player. As I understand it, in order to get things like the number of tracks, I need to create an instance of AudioCDReader. I would have thought it would be code like this:

AudioCDReader reader = AudioCDReader::createReaderForCD(selectedCDIndex);

However, when I try to compile this, I get error C2248: ‘juce::AudioCDReader::AudioCDReader’ : cannot access private member declared in class ‘juce::AudioCDReader’ y:\juce orig\extras\example projects\common\hellowarrencontentcomponent.cpp 198

I presume that it would be a mistake to alter any JUCE code blindly, so I’m guessing there must be a better way for me to get a reader. Am I right?

Thanks,
Warren

AudioCDReader reader = AudioCDReader::createReaderForCD(selectedCDIndex);

That function returns a pointer; the left hand side of your code there has a stack object created! Change it to…

AudioCDReader* reader = AudioCDReader::createReaderForCD(selectedCDIndex);

Thanks for that tip, that worked.

I’m on kind of a non-traditional learning path, I guess. Know Java and C#, trying to get up to speed on C++. So I’m still getting the hang of passing pointers instead of objects, and working without automatic garbage collection.

Can you answer one more dumb question about this? I see from the documentation that I will have to delete reader. That’s fine.

But if I have code like:
int tracks = reader->getNumTracks();
for (int i=1;i<=tracks;i++)
cboTracks->addItem(String(i),i);

do I have to delete all those strings that I’ve added? I’m thinking no, they’re anonymous variables but they’re on the stack, but my thinking could well be wrong. And if I clear the combo box? What happens to the orphaned Strings?

Thanks for reading this,
Warren

you’re right, you don’t have to delete those.