Save/Restore state in iOS

Hi!! I’m brand new to JUCE and iOS app development and would like some help on the following issue:

I am building an iOS app where, very basically, users can create projects to be accessed later. I have some underlying data that each project contains (string project name, int project index, Array arr1, Array arr2) and I want the app to retain the project data upon closing and re opening the app. I have read up on AudioProcessorValueTreeState and XML etc etc but found none of it to be helpful since I am not using a JUCE plugin and the data to be saved/restored is not associated with a plugin, it’s just data as a part of the app… any ideas? Again, I’m brand new to this stuff but I’m learning as I go.

You can use ValueTree’s on their own. Or you can manually convert your data structures to XML for saving/restoring. Or you can define your own persistent file format and convert your data structures to this for saving/restoring.

Here is a good video for understanding ValueTree’s: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3IaMjH5lBEY

Thank you so much for your prompt reply. I will look at the video you sent right away.

@cpr I have a Project class that deals with individual attributes of each project but I also have a ProjectSelector class that manages all the projects a user has created. Both have data that needs to be restored during app state restoration, where should I put my ValueTree implementation?

Do you mean what code should create/load/save the ValueTree? It seems likely the data for Project and ProjectSelector would be stored in different files, in which case you would want separate ValueTrees for each, and that each class would own their ValueTree.