Sell open-source product?

With the free open source license - am I allowed to sell my product (as some kind of cost recovery for maintaining?). Can I use the free license when I integrate modules that were coded without using the juce framework but closed-source?

I’m no lawyer, but as far as I understand it you can sell products you’ve created with JUCE as long as they are GPL too. You just have to make the source available to anyone who requests it. As for mixing closed source code with GPL code, I’m not sure, but my gut says no. It feels like if this was possible it would open up a great big can or worms. Seems to me that all code would need to be GPLed. But once again, I ain’t no lawyer.

1 Like

Yes, you can sell GPL software, no problem.

But the whole point of the GPL is that to comply with it, you must release ALL of the code in your product under the GPL. (Otherwise it would completely pointless for such a license to exist!) So if you’re linking to any closed-source parts then you would definitely need a commercial license.

1 Like

A working example of this is Ardour, an open source DAW:

https://community.ardour.org/download

The thing about Ardour is that it’s a MAJOR pain to build, even more so if you’re a musician with no coding experience looking for a DAW. That’s how they make money, by selling the binaries while still providing the full buildable source right next to it.

2 Likes

Is obfuscated code still “open”, or is it already “closed”?

1 Like

Well, Ardour isn’t obfuscated, it’s just that it has a huge number of dependencies, build gotchas, etc.