Should I always use Atomics?

Hey, newbie here. I just learned that doubles and longs can “tear” due to multi-threadding and to solve it you have to use atomics. So should I always just use atomics? For example if I have a frequency variable for my SynthesiserVoice class, should I use"Atomic<double>"? How much performance do you lose from using atomics and when should you not use it?

The Jeff Preshing’s blog is a good introduction for that stuff < https://preshing.com/archives/ >.

From your question I’m not sure if it’s already clear to you, so simply you should not use atomics if your data is not used by multiple threads. As a lot of tasks you perform are just performed by one thread in most cases you shouldn’t make everything atomic just to be sure, using an atomic should be an intentional design choice for only a few values.

As long as you don’t launch additional own threads in your plugin or application – and I think if you did, you would already be at the point where you could answer this question yourself, so lets just put this case aside for now – you can expect a juce audio application or a plugin to have 2 threads.

One thread is the realtime thread that will do all work related to processing audio and midi. This thread will only call the processBlock function and nothing else.
The other thread is the message thread that will do all the rest: Creating and destroying your plugin editor or application GUI, calling all the Component related functions like paint and resize and all callbacks from buttons and sliders that are triggered because of interaction with the GUI.

So if you have values you set from the GUI through sliders and read from within processBlock they will cross the thread-boundary, so here it is a good idea to make them atomic. But if you have values that are updated inside processBlock and will only be read again in the next processBlock call there is no need to make them atomic.