Sluggish controls rendered over opengl context

I'm a relative novice with Juce and recently have started using it for 3d surface rendering within a basic GUI. I am using Juce on Windows XP.. 

I have recently come across an issue that I am hoping someone can help me wth, A component such as a combo box that renders over a rapidly refreshing component rendered using an opengl context responds in a very sluggish way to interactions. You can see this in the opengl demo - click one of the the drop downs and see the latency in the displayed item selection as you move the mouse up and down.

This doesn't happen on a component with software rendering. Is there any way to prevent this or is it unavoidable?

Any assistance would be much appreciated!

Thanks,

Ivan

I'm seeing nothing like that on my machine (OSX).. Could be that if you're on XP, the event loop is behaving differently, perhaps getting starved if the GL rendering is eating all the CPU time?

I get this on Windows 8.1 too. Noticeably better with the software renderer.  Perhaps unsurprisingly, the difference is more noticeable on my old i7 laptop than my Xeon/Quadro equipped DAW.

Thank you Jules for your reply and Andrew its interesting to hear you are also seeing something similar. 

I have found that if you turn off continuous repainting so that the window is not updated very often then the problem is reduced.  In terms of the event loop being starved the component I don't believe this is the case however I will profile this just to make sure. 

Can I ask a further basic question? In a component using opengl rendering is this not done on a background thread and is this still the case if you derive from OpenGLRenderer and use the renderOpenGL() method?