Some suggestions

Hi all!

First of all , I'm new to JUCE and new to these forumes. I have toyed with JUCE for a week now and I have to say - it's everything that was missing in our C++ life ! everything that we needed for modern and agile C++ development lays in these libraries and everything is cross-platform which is fantasic! GUI, networking , XML & JSON , Utilities and much more that we had to find external libraries for is simply there.

I have some suggestions for the next versions of JUCE:

1) first of all , the use of lambda functions. for example , if one want to add onClick functionlity to a button he must either inherit a button and override some function there , or inherit from Listener and do the same. in C++11 , the first thing that comes to mind is the ability to attach functionality on-the-fly with lamda functions. something like

myButton.setCacllBack( []{ ...My function here...  } );  

this can be applied on every class that the developer has to inherit and override to change some of the functionality.

2) the way to create a json string is a bit off.. first you have to create DynamicObject, then set all the properties , then construct a var variable with the DynamicObject's memory address then use JSON::toString(). this is a verbose way.. my suggestion is that JSON::parse can have  DynamicObject& argument at the first place , or var have the ability to be set with new properties

3) support of server-side HTTP requests and responses . the support is only for the client side (maybe it's not possible on all OS?)

4) in text editor - to be able to set font on specific sub-text (denoted by first and lasr indexes)  and to be able to get one the from sub-text (or array of them)

1. Would be cool yes, but what if the owner of the lambda dies before the control, and a callback happens? The listener system needs to have add/remove functionality. Also, JUCE would need both anyway, since it's supposed to work with non-C++11 compliant compilers.