Tips for making a sample-based drum machine + sequencer

Hello, I’m a programmer who recently started learning JUCE. I’ve had a project in mind but wanted to ask for some advice on how to start, and what to look into.

Basically, I want to build a 4-part sample-based drum machine with a 16 step sequencer. Additionally, I wanted to have step-based automation for parameters like pitch, volume, amp env, sample choice etc.

Any ideas on where to start? My initial idea was to make a 4-part drum sampler with midi control, then make the 4 part sequencer with midi outs, then link them. That said, is it easier to just make a closed, non-midi system? Any advice is greatly appreciated, thanks!

The MIDI part is the easy one. Making a good sampler is more difficult than it seems so you may want to reuse existing code first (this will also help you understand what it takes to build it yourself):

1 Like

Got it! I’ll look into Tracktion for making the sequencer. I was thinking of using the pre-built Juce SamplerSound object for the sample part.

Regardless, I’ll look into HISE as well. Just to confirm, the correct approach is to use MIDI, even if the sequencer and instrument are part of the same plugin? Thanks for the help!

I thought you wanted to use MIDI to control your instrument from a MIDI controller or another MIDI source. Internally MIDI is not the best choice because of its limitations. A couple of examples: MIDI1 velocities are limited to a resolution of 127 values and you don’t want to wait for a NoteOff to know the duration of a note.

I think I miscommunicated in my first post. I’m not married to MIDI, it was just the only way I could think to do it. If there’s a better/easier way of connecting the step-sequencer and sampler together, that would be better.

External control of some parameters would be useful, but the idea is to just have the built-in step sequencer perform the modulation/automation of the parameters. Thanks for all the help thus far!