Ubuntu Full Screen Size Not Correct Until Repaint

This is probably user error, as I’m pretty new to JUCE. I can’t seem to make setFullScreen(true) to have the desired behavior (on Ubuntu 18.04).

I would like to set the MainWindow to fullscreen, and then set the size of the MainComponent to take up the full size of the MainWindow.

I have called setFullScreen(true) on MainWindow, and I’ve tried a few different things to set the size of the MainComponent, one of them being the following:

auto userArea{juce::Desktop::getInstance().getDisplays().getPrimaryDisplay()->userArea};
setSize(userArea.getWidth(), userArea.getHeight());

It seems that when the app is first opened it has the full height of the screen, and only after an initial interaction (like a mouse movement) does it actually get resized to the true userArea size.

I’ve set a DBG statement inside my MainComponent::resized function and see the following (the first message is on the initial call to resized called after the constructor, the second is after slightly moving the mouse):

Screenshot from 2021-11-24 22-12-13

I’ve scoured the forums and docs and haven’t found anything yet. Any insights would be appreciated.

There were changes related to full screen behaviour in Linux recently, so just make sure you are using 6.1.2 or develop.

There are a couple of variables to play with here. You could set a constant size to MainComponent and it should still fill your screen when calling setFullScreen (true). You could check that you are calling setFullScreen after the window has been added to the desktop. If you can’t see an explicit call to addToDesktop() after setFullScreen() this should be the case.

Also on Linux the behaviour will be different if you use setUsingNativeTitleBar (true) or not. In the former case the window will cover the taskbar (like on MacOS), in the latter it will leave it unobstructed.