UndoManager: check reentrancy

Hi Jules,

I found the following method to be useful:

/** Returns this if an undo or redo is not already on the call stack, and nullptr
 otherwise.
 */
UndoManager* getIfNotReentrant()
{
    return reentrancyCheck ? nullptr : this;
}

// caller code:
target.setProperty (property, source[property], undo.getIfNotReentrant())

I have changes propagating from one ValueTree to another, and a case where the caller is not aware, before calling setProperty on the target tree, whether the property change in the source tree was triggered by an undo (or redo).

Is this a silly thing to be doing? If not, would you consider adding that function to the API?

Hmm, seems a bit ropey to me - if I saw some code that used it, I’d be very sceptical about its correctness. Could probably cause some changes to be made without an UndoManager in a way that’d mess up the undo behaviour

As usual you’re totally right. I’m new to the UndoManager, and still getting my head around its design and intended use. I had a ValueTree::setProperty that could trigger a Component::resize(), which in turn was trying to set a property. I just moved that last bit to some controller code where it belonged anyway.

Thanks a ton.

I am running into this problem as well and any opinions would be very welcome.

The run into the reentry assertion check when performing undo with an undomanager that undoes changes to a large valuetree structure. This can easily happen if a valuetree propertychange leads to changing other properties. When undo is performed, the order the changes are undone is not necessarily well defined and therefore sometimes a triggered property change will trigger the reentry assert. Or it’s recorded as a new transaction right away which is also not desirable as it kills redo.