Upgrade to Catalina, has the dust settled yet?

I just upgraded my iOS device to iOS 13 and now I can’t build for it without upgrading Xcode which requires me to update to 10.15 Catalina.

I hear for iOS dev there are no problems, but not clear on whether it’s still risky for desktop and plugin development. Anyone here on Catalina and doing ok?

I’ve been using Catalina for a few months now.
There are some extra pain points like not being able to run un-notarised software but that’s usually quite rare.

The main thing is if you’re stilling shipping 32-bit plugins. You can’t build these any more on Catalina.

2 Likes

@dave96 for example, is it possible to debug plug-ins easily in DAWs like, Reaper, Logic, Live or Pro Tools dev in Catalina ?

1 Like

It really depends on the DAW. They have to build with a load of extra entitlements to allow debugging which I doubt most do.

There was another thread around which discussed actually re-signing Live with your own entitlements file in order to be able to debug with it. So not exactly easy even if it is possible.

1 Like

Thanks guys. Looks like I’m gonna be holding off for a while longer, unless I get another Mac!

With this it works quite well, even with REAPER (see my comment there)

1 Like

Actually, an external hard disk is all you would need: I develop on macOS 10.14 normally but I have a USB disk with 10.15 that I can boot from for testing Catalina specifically

1 Like

There is a way to get around this by clicking at “Open Anyway” if you go to System Preferences > Security & Privacy.

However for some reason, when testing with Reaper, I can unblock un-notarised programs and AU plugins but I can’t unblock un-notarised VST plugins (I click “Open Anyway” but nothing happens). If anybody understands why this happens, please let me know!