Urgent - Record a file in 16KHz or downsampling a file to 16KHz

The problem is that I need to record a file in 16KHz, but I found JUCE does not support 16KHz sample rate. Therefore I have to record it in 44.1KHz and resample it to 16KHz.

1. Is there a way to record a file in 16KHz?
  2. If no for Qn 1, how can I resample it to 16KHz?

I found the class ResamplingAudioSource class but don't know how to use it. Is the class to paly a file at a new sample rate (say 16KHz) or to get a new file with the new sample rate (say 16KHz) ? I need the latter, since I need to use AudioFormatReader::read function to get the raw data in 2d array (int**).

I am new to JUCE and I need to solve the problem as soon as possible. Hope someone can give me some help.

Thanks.

If you just want to resample the file offline your best bet is to probably just run it through the LagrangeInterpolator (http://www.juce.com/api/classLagrangeInterpolator.html).

Function --- process (double speedRatio, const float *inputSamples, float *outputSamples, int numOutputSamplesToProduce)

So if I want to resample from 44.1KHz to 16KHz, the speedRatio should be (44.1 / 16), is it?

And the input/output samples are in float, are they in the range of -1.0 to 1.0?

Really thank you!!

The speed ratio parameter is explained in the docs, and yes, floating point audio samples are always -1 to 1!

So what would be the problem if it works for resampling a 16K to 16K, while it fails for resampling 44.1K to 16K?

I think I have set the speedRation correctly to be (actual_sample_rate/16000).

Otherwise, is there a way to record 16KHz audio. That will be easier.

Without showing your code, or even saying how it fails, I think you're being optimistic if you expect anyone to help you with that.

ResamplingAudioSource?

Get a good app like SoundForge

Code is as bellow. Basically it compares two singing files and gives scores for the user.